Federal bills Mental Health Colorado is following

S.1895 – Lower Health Care Costs Act

H.R. 2061/S. 1012 – Overdose Prevention and Patient Safety Act introduced by Rep. Earl Blumenauer (OR-3) and Sen. Joe Manchin (WV). H.R. 2062/ S. 1012 would align an old law with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act to fully integrate substance use health information.

S. 1770 Resilience Investment, Support, and Expansion (RISE) from Trauma Act introduced by Sens. Richard Durbin (IL) and Shelley Moore Capito (WV). S. 1770 would prevent and mitigate childhood trauma’s impact on mental health.

H.R. 1109/S. 1122 – Mental Health Services for Students Act introduced by Rep. Grace Napolitano (CA-32) and Sen. Tina Smith (MN). H.R. 1109/S. 1122 would extend mental health services in schools, a key access point for children before a crisis.

H.R. 2451 – Mental Health Professionals Workforce Shortage Loan Repayment Act introduced by John Katko (NY-24). H.R. 2431 would authorize a new loan repayment program in designated mental health professional shortage areas.

H.R. 4194 – National Suicide Hotline Designation Act of 2019 introduced by Rep. Chris Stewart (R-UT2) would make 988 the nationwide telephone number for suicidal counseling